The South West of England: A definition

This study examines the South West region of England as defined by the South West Regional Development Agency's (SWRDA) geographical boundaries, which includes the Isles of Scilly and Lundy, the mainland and inshore waters. The region is composed of six counties and nine unitary authorities (See Figure 1).

The study covered all activities within these boundaries, such as production, imports and exports of goods and materials within the region.

Figure 1
The counties and unitary authorities in the South West

fig 1

Source: SWRDA, 2004